Keeping our capital working for the UK

Print this page

London Urban Transformation Commission

For the long term success of Greater London, what steps should be taken to accelerate development and create great places to live and work?

London First is bringing together practitioners from the planning and development and infrastructure sectors to form The London Urban Transformation Commission (LUTC). The Commission will make recommendations on the way forward for regeneration in London to keep the capital competitive in the wake of Brexit and an intensifying housing crisis.  We’ll be looking, in particular, at ways of thinking and working, policy formulation, governance and resourcing to achieve this.

Key aims:

  • To provide regeneration and urban transformation practitioners with examples of best practice in London.
  • To seek to identify what constitutes economically and socially viable communities and how these areas can be fostered.
  • To encourage an improved joined-up approach in policy development and advocacy, in planning, housing and transport, and to promote better coordination of these areas at the GLA.


  • To focus on public/private collaboration, tackling blockers to regeneration and drilling into areas where progress could be accelerated.
  • To consider the financial viability of individual schemes.
  • To publish a report of its findings in early 2018.

The Commission’s work will focus as it evolves on the key issues identified.

The Commission’s recent publication is available here.

The Commission is chaired by Stephen Warrington, London First board member, and led by Sue Brown, executive director of planning and development at London First.


Stephen WarringtonStephen Warrington – Non-Executive Director, London First (Chair)
SBSue Brown – Executive Director, Planning and Development, London First
Martin BellingerMartin Bellinger – Director of Essential Land
Nick_BelstenNick Belsten – Director, Indigo Planning
Jeremy Castle (003)Jeremy Castle – Director, Planning, Deloitte
Nancy_HolmanDr Nancy Holman – Director of Planning Studies, London School of Economics
Andrew JonesAndrew Jones – Managing Director, AECOM
Lee PolisanoLee Polisano – President, PLP
Simon DurkinSimon Durkin – Head of UK Research, BNP Paribas
Rob Tincknell – Chief Executive Officer, Battersea Power Station
Roberta DowneyRoberta Downey – Partner, Hogan Lovells

Paul Ward – Head of Regeneration, Barratt London

Joanne Skilton, Head of UK Retail, BNP Paribas Real Estate

Look out for opportunities throughout the year to contribute to the Commission’s work and influence.

For more information, contact Kathryn Gray:

London First Tweets