Keeping our capital working for the UK

Print this page

Registered Traveller pilot to cut queue times at Heathrow and Gatwick

Today, 24 September, the Home Office and UK Border Force have launched a pilot that will allow regular non-EU travellers from USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Japan to join the shorter EU queues at border controls. The pilot will initially take place at Heathrow and Gatwick.

*UPDATE, June 2015*

This is now a Border Force service for travellers from the USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Japan. Registered Travellers can use the EU lanes and UK e-Passport gates with a biometric passport.

The service was expanded in April 2015 to a range of UK ports, including Heathrow, Gatwick, Birmingham, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Manchester, London City, Stansted and the rail terminals at Brussels, Paris and Lille. New ports will continue to be added throughout 2015.

You can apply online here. It costs £70 to apply to use the service for 12 months. If your application is unsuccessful, you’ll get £50 back.



London First Tweets