Keeping our capital working for the UK

Print this page

Three new Deputy Mayors appointed

Last week, the Mayor of London completed his political appointments with announcements of three new Deputy Mayors for Business; Planning, Regeneration and Skills; and, Culture and Creative Industries.

Rajesh Agrawal, Deputy Mayor for Business

Rajesh Agrawal is a fintech entrepreneur and innovator, the founder and CEO of Xendpay, an international money transfer service, and RationalFX, an online foreign exchange service.
His remit as Deputy Mayor for Business includes championing London’s interests and protecting jobs and growth while the UK establishes its future relationship with the European Union.

Both Rajesh and the Mayor will be calling for Britain and London to remain part of the European single market, and for the capital to be granted more autonomy in order to safeguard its business interests, including greater powers over skills, infrastructure, housing and planning.
London First will be working closely with Rajesh. On his first day in post, Rajesh joined the London First Board meeting. Find out more here.


Jules Pipe, Deputy Mayor for Planning, Regeneration and Skills

Jules became the first directly elected mayor of Hackney in 2002, and has served as Chair of London Councils since June 2010. He will stand down from both roles to become Deputy Mayor for Planning, Regeneration and Skills.

Jules’ remit will include leading on major regeneration projects across the capital, providing young people with skills for their future careers, and ensuring London’s infrastructure needs are delivered to benefit all Londoners. He will lead on the revision of the London Plan and work closely with James Murray, deputy mayor for housing and residential development, to tackle the city’s housing crisis.


Justine Simons, Deputy Mayor for Culture and Creative Industries 

Justine has worked at a senior level in London’s cultural sector for over 20 years, both in policy and as a practitioner. She has worked on delivering major cultural initiatives such as the 2012 Olympic Festival, the Fourth Plinth Commission, and she established the World Cities Cultural Forum, a major international network of 33 world cities. She is currently Head of Culture at City Hall, having previously worked in the dance sector for a decade as a producer and director.

As Deputy Mayor for Culture and Creative Industries, she will lead on the Mayor’s manifesto commitment to deliver  a programme to support the sector including championing the night-time economy, launching creative enterprise zones and protecting vital music venues.
London First will be working closely with the new appointments – and the wider Mayoral team – over the coming months to help achieve all of these priorities, and will seek to hold member events with all of them as soon as possible.


The following Deputy Mayors have already been announced:


Val Shawcross CBE – Deputy Mayor for Transport and Deputy Chair of Transport for London. Val Shawcross has served as a London Assembly member for 16 years, including eight years as chair and deputy chair of the London Assembly transport committee.

Lord Andrew Adonis – Chair of the Crossrail 2 Board. Lord Adonis will continue his role as chair of the National Infrastructure Commission.


James Murray – Deputy Mayor for Housing. James is formerly the lead councillor for housing and development at Islington Council, a role he has held since 2010.

Policing and fire

Sophie Linden – Deputy Mayor for Policing and Crime. Sophie is former government special adviser to Lord David Blunkett at the Home Office, and was Deputy Mayor of Hackney Council with lead responsibility for crime and community safety, neighbourhood and civic engagement.

Fiona Twycross – Chair, London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority (LFEPA). Fiona has been an Assembly Member since 2012, and has served as Vice Chair of LFEPA since July 2013.

  • David Bellamy, Chief of Staff
  • Patrick Hennessy, Mayoral Director, Communications
  • Leah Kreitzman, Mayoral Director, External and International Relations
  • Nick Bowes, Mayoral Director, Policy
  • Jack Stenner, Mayoral Director, Political and Public Affairs

Contact: Sian Morgan,

London First Tweets